EU Council removes Argentina, Australia and Canada from list of safe third countries

Updating the list of countries for which travel restrictions should be lifted, the Council of the European Union decided to remove Argentina, Australia and Canada, advising member states to reinstate restrictions of travel for travelers from these three countries.

“The Council has updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted. In particular, Argentina, Australia and Canada have been removed from the list. said the Council’s statement.

The decision to reinstate entry rules follows rising infection rates in those countries. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), Argentina has reported 877,424 new cases of infection in the past seven days.

During the same period, Australia reported 511,267 new cases and Canada reported 262,710 new cases, reports

Under the previous Council recommendation, travelers from Argentina, Australia and Canada could travel to EU member states without being subject to strict entry restrictions.

However, according to the new update, the three aforementioned countries will no longer be considered epidemiologically safe and therefore travelers from these areas will have to follow the entry rules when reaching the Member States, provided that the recommendation be adopted.

Since each EU member state has the right to decide its own entry rules, travelers from Argentina, Australia and Canada may face different entry rules depending on their country of destination.

Currently, all EU countries require travelers to present a valid vaccination certificate indicating that the holder has been fully immunized against the virus. Certificates proving that the holder has recovered from the virus are also recognized.

Except having to provide one of the certificates mentioned above, travelers from third countries not registered on the security list may also be required to submit to an entry test. However, the rules vary from country to country and the vaccination status of each traveler.

On the other hand, travelers from countries that are still on the EU’s list of safe third countries will continue to be able to travel to member states without being subject to strict entry rules.

Following the new update, the list of safe third countries now includes:

  • Bahrain
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Previously, reported that all EU/Schengen countries continue to be heavily affected by the COVID-19 disease. For this reason, everyone is advised to avoid non-essential travel during this time.

Editor’s Choice:

Previous Banks need a product mindset when evaluating CBDCs
Next Djokovic case reveals 'dysfunctional and dangerous' Australian visa rules, say experts | Novak Djokovic