Germany to remove UK and southern African countries from virus variant zone list on January 4

German authorities are set to leave the virus variant zone list empty once again, as on Thursday, December 30, they announced that as of January 4, all countries on the variant zone list virus will be moved to high risk areas. listing.

The list of current viral variant areas should be valid until Monday January 3, 2022 inclusive (from Tuesday January 4, 2022 at 00:00, countries previously classified as viral variant areas will be classified as high risk areas). risk areas, short-term changes are possible)», Announced Thursday the German institute Robert Koch (RKI).

The RKI, which is the agency of the German federal government and the research institute responsible for disease control and prevention, will therefore classify the following countries as high-risk areas, starting next Tuesday:

  1. Botswana
  2. Eswatini
  3. Lesotho
  4. Malawi
  5. Mozambique
  6. Namibia
  7. Zimbabwe
  8. South Africa
  9. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

While the top eight have been on the list of viral variant zones since November 28, the UK has been on the list since December 20.

The change means that from January 4, travelers from these countries will be able to enter the territory of Germany, while being subject to the same restrictions as the majority of travelers around the world. Previously, only German citizens and residents as well as certain specific categories could enter Germany from areas of viral variants.

However, travelers from these nine countries will still need to register at before arriving in Germany and carry the registration confirmation with them upon entry.

Upon entering the Federal Republic of Germany, persons aged six years or over must be in possession of proof of testing, proof of recovery or proof of vaccination. As a general rule, COVID tests (antigen tests or PCR tests) should not be older than 48 hours at the time of (intended) entry into Germany,», Explains the German Foreign Ministry.

Travelers from high risk areas who fail to provide any of the evidence listed above should be quarantined for a period of ten days. Those who show proof of vaccination or recovery from COVID-19 can leave quarantine immediately, while those who test negative for COVID-19 may end quarantine after another test taken no earlier than the fifth. day.

Announcing the decision to leave the list of viral variant zones blank, the RKI also added Canada, Italy, Malta and San Marino to the high-risk list. The list is expected to come into effect on Saturday, January 1, 2022.

Source link

Previous Betty White Dead at 99: A look back at her best roles
Next Growing Sikh community seeking permanent home on NSW-Victoria border