Vaccinated Australians can travel to the EU without special exemption from November 1


From Monday, November 1, Australians will be allowed to leave Australian territory without the need to obtain prior exemptions, and thus to travel to countries which allow them entry, including here the countries of Australia. European Union and the Schengen area.

The decision was only announced this week by the Australian Government’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, which also noted that the “do not travel” warning had been removed once and for all.

And we’re updating travel advice levels for 177 destinations based on the latest risk assessment – both COVID-19 and other safety and security threats“, Also notes the Department.

Much like the United States, Australia also has four levels of overseas travel advice for its residents, as follows:

  • Level 1: Take normal safety precautions
  • Level 2: Use great caution
  • Level 3: Reconsider the need to travel
  • Level 4: Don’t travel

Currently, all EU and Schengen area countries are placed at level 2, except Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, which are placed at level 3.

Commenting on the changes regarding overseas travel, Health and Elderly Care Minister Greg Hunt said Australians are proving they have been vaccinated in order to be allowed to travel abroad.

Australian citizens and permanent residents who wish to travel overseas will need to provide proof that they are fully vaccinated with a vaccine approved or recognized by the TGA, with the second dose being given at least seven days before travel. These changes will also make it easier for children under 12 to travel.», Declared the Minister.

While Australians have not been allowed to travel to Europe since the start of the pandemic, the EU, by contrast, has allowed Australians to enter since June, when the list of epidemiologically safe third countries was established for the first time.

Currently, all countries in the EU and the Schengen area allow the entry of Australians, and the majority of them allow vaccinated Australians to enter their territory without any restrictions.

Still, some countries have stricter entry rules for Australians, such as Norway. On September 18, Norway removed Australia from the list of purple countries, meaning Australians could no longer enter for non-essential purposes.

According to a report co-funded by the European Union on EU travel trends, there were 22 million arrivals of Australian guests to EU accommodation establishments in 2017 in the bloc. Australians also spent € 28 billion on overseas travel in 2016, making it the sixth largest market in terms of spending.


Previous Fall Travel and COVID-19 Policy Update
Next Here's why we should end pandemic migration restrictions

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.